Get early access

LinkedIn and Instagram MCP Servers Compared

By The PostReach team. Published . Updated . More posts

Drafted with AI help. The PostReach team checked the facts on 5 November 2026.

PostReach cover on a pink background with the words: LinkedIn and Instagram MCP servers.
In this post

Of the 8 LinkedIn MCP servers we read on 5 November 2026, not counting our own, 2 say they can publish a post: Taplio’s and Zapier’s. Of the 8 Instagram servers, 5 can: jlbadano/ig-mcp, Markifact, StackOne, Zapier and instamcp. The rest read data, handle messages, edit a profile or run ads. LinkedIn runs one official server, My Profile, for select partners, and it edits your profile, not posts. For publishing posts, we found no official LinkedIn or Instagram server on the pages listed below. The first question to ask of any server: does it use an API you’ve authorized, or your own signed-in session?

The tables report what each project’s own page says. PostReach, which we make, is listed at the end, so you can weigh that.

What a social media MCP server is, and the kinds you’ll find

MCP “is an open-source standard for connecting AI applications to external systems”. A social media server gives your AI agent tools, such as reading a profile or publishing a photo. They fall into three kinds:

  • Session-based. It drives a browser or reuses cookies from your own login. Quick to start, with no developer app. Your account carries the risk, as the terms below explain.
  • Data services. A vendor collects the data on its own systems, and you sign in to the vendor, not the network. These mostly read.
  • API-based. It calls the network’s own API with a token you authorized. Most of the publishing servers below work this way, often hosted by a vendor so you don’t need your own developer app.

LinkedIn MCP servers compared

From each project’s own page, read 5 November 2026. “Not stated” means the page doesn’t say.

Server What it does How it signs in Can it publish?
LinkedIn My Profile, LinkedIn’s own Reads and updates “supported sections of a LinkedIn member’s own profile”. Select partners only OAuth 2.0 with PKCE, from an app LinkedIn has approved No posts. A profile change goes through only after the member approves a preview
stickerdaniel/linkedin-mcp-server 25 tools: read profiles, companies, jobs and feed, search, send messages and connection requests Your browser session: it “reuses a LinkedIn session from a signed-in local browser”, or opens a login No post-creation tool in its list
felipfr/linkedin-mcpserver, a directory listing Profile and job search, messaging, network stats, through the LinkedIn API “automatic token management” against the API Not in its feature list
Apify LinkedIn MCP Extracts profiles, work history, skills, emails and company data Apify account and token, or OAuth to Apify. “you don’t need LinkedIn API key” No
Taplio, a directory listing “draft, schedule, publish, and analyze your LinkedIn posts” Connects “to your Taplio account” Yes
Zapier LinkedIn MCP Create Company Update, Create Share Update, API Request Zapier’s LinkedIn connection, method not stated Yes
CData Code Assist LinkedIn data for AI coding tools: schema discovery and SQL prototyping Its docs cover a custom OAuth application Not stated. A Readonly setting is listed
Markifact LinkedIn Ads reporting and campaign creation, and the Ads Library Not stated for LinkedIn Not stated for organic posts
PostReach, our own Your agent drafts, a named person approves, PostReach schedules and publishes, on profiles and company pages You connect each account. Connections last 60 days, and we email 7 days before and on the day Yes, after a person approves. No documents or PDFs

What their pages say about risk:

  • LinkedIn My Profile: “The model cannot publish changes independently.” Its limit is 500 requests a day per member.
  • stickerdaniel: “Use at your own risk; there is no guarantee of account safety.” It’s not affiliated with LinkedIn.
  • felipfr: “This server handles sensitive LinkedIn authentication credentials. Review the token management system”.
  • Apify: it offers data “beyond the limitations of LinkedIn’s official API”, and the text we read has no statement on LinkedIn’s terms.
  • Zapier: no risk wording, but “One MCP tool call uses 2 tasks from your plan’s quota”.
  • Markifact: “approve actions before anything goes live”.
  • Taplio and CData: not stated.

Instagram MCP servers compared

Server What it does How it signs in Can it publish?
jlbadano/ig-mcp, a directory listing Profile, media, insights, direct messages Instagram Graph API with a long-lived token. Needs a Business account connected to a Facebook Page, and a Facebook developer account Yes: “Upload and publish images/videos to Instagram”
Markifact Analyzes Business and Creator accounts, publishes images, carousels, Reels and Stories “one-click OAuth” Yes, “with approval before every write”
StackOne 83 actions on comments, hashtags and media “Per-user OAuth” Yes: “Publish a media container to the Instagram account feed”
Zapier Instagram for Business MCP Publish Photo(s), Publish Video (Reel), API Request Zapier’s connection Yes, for a Business account: “not a Personal or Creator Account”
instamcp 79 tools: 30 need no credentials, 48 need cookies A cookies.json exported from your logged-in browser Yes, including uploads and scheduling
SetSmart 211 tools, mainly direct messages and automation. $97/mo, its post says OAuth 2.1 No publishing tool in its list. Its “instagram post” tools list posts and manage comment triggers
CData Instagram A “local, read-only MCP server” over its driver Through the driver, with OAuth in your browser if needed No
Apify Instagram Profile Follower export, enrichment, similar accounts, search, post engagers. “from $10.00 / 1,000 profiles” Apify account and token No
PostReach, our own Your agent drafts, a named person approves, PostReach schedules and publishes feed posts, carousels, Reels and Stories You connect each account. Professional accounts only Yes, after a person approves

What their pages say about risk:

  • jlbadano: direct messages require “Advanced Access approval from Meta”.
  • Markifact: asked whether it’s the official server, its page answers “No.”
  • StackOne: says it scans tool responses for prompt injection.
  • Zapier: no risk wording, and 2 tasks per tool call.
  • instamcp: “Use a dedicated account”, “not your personal account”. And: “Avoid rapid consecutive writes.”
  • SetSmart: calls your access token “the equivalent of your password”.
  • CData and Apify: not stated.

What publishing through an official API involves

If you’re tempted to build your own, here’s what the networks’ pages ask for, read 5 November 2026.

Instagram. The Instagram Platform works with “Instagram professional accounts”, meaning business or creator. So a personal account is out. The rule that matters most is about whose accounts you serve. “If your app only serves your Instagram professional account or an account you manage, Standard Access is all your app needs.” Serve anyone else’s, and you need Advanced Access, which “requires App Review and Business Verification”.

Publishing itself has limits worth knowing. An account tied to a Page that needs Page Publishing Authorization “cannot be published to until PPA has been completed”. “JPEG is the only image format supported.” Media “must be hosted on a publicly accessible server at the time of the attempt”. Shopping tags and filters aren’t supported. The page gives two limits and doesn’t explain the difference: “100 API-published posts within a 24-hour moving period” under Rate Limit, and “50 published posts within a 24-hour period” under carousels.

LinkedIn. To post for a member, an app needs the w_member_social scope, which is “Required to create a LinkedIn post on behalf of the authenticated member”. Tokens don’t last: “Currently, all access tokens are issued with a 60-day lifespan.” Managing company Pages for clients goes through the Community Management API, a “Vetted Product with development and standard tiers”. The Standard tier asks for a screencast of each use case.

What the networks’ terms say

These are the clauses to read before you connect a session-based server, as they stood on 5 November 2026. We quote them and don’t interpret them for you. This isn’t legal advice.

LinkedIn User Agreement, effective 3 November 2025, section 8.2 “Don’ts”. The bullets aren’t numbered, so we count by position:

  • 8.2, first item: “use or attempt to use another’s account (such as sharing log-in credentials or copying cookies)”.
  • 8.2, second item: “Develop, support or use software, devices, scripts, robots or any other means or processes (such as crawlers, browser plugins and add-ons or any other technology) to scrape or copy the Services, including profiles and other data from the Services”.
  • 8.2, thirteenth item: “Use bots or other unauthorized automated methods to access the Services, add or download contacts, send or redirect messages, create, comment on, like, share, or re-share posts, or otherwise drive inauthentic engagement”.

LinkedIn API Terms of Use, last revised 13 December 2022, section 3.1.

  • 3.1(24) covers content obtained by “scraping, crawling, spidering or using any other technology or software to access LinkedIn content outside the APIs”.
  • 3.1(26): “Use the Content or the APIs to automate posting on the LinkedIn Services.”

That last clause sits in the terms for any app using LinkedIn’s APIs, ours included. It doesn’t define “automate”, and we can’t tell you how LinkedIn would read it for a given tool. On PostReach, a person approves each exact post, and there’s no unattended mode.

Instagram Terms of Use, effective 1 January 2025, section 4.2. “You can’t attempt to create accounts or access or collect information in unauthorized ways.” It goes on: “This includes creating accounts or accessing or collecting information in an automated way without our express permission, regardless of whether such automated access or collection is undertaken while logged-in to an Instagram account.”

Some projects say this themselves. The stickerdaniel README states: “LinkedIn’s User Agreement prohibits automated access, and accounts using automated tools can be restricted or banned.” It also says the tool “controls a real browser session; it doesn’t exploit undocumented APIs or bypass authentication”. That candor helps: you can weigh the tool knowing the risk its own author states.

Is there an official LinkedIn or Instagram MCP server?

We read these pages on 5 November 2026.

Meta. Meta publishes one MCP server, for ads: “a Meta-hosted Model Context Protocol server that lets you manage Meta ads directly from an AI agent”, at https://mcp.facebook.com/ads. For publishing Instagram or Facebook Page posts, we found none on these pages: the Instagram platform overview, the content publishing guide and the Meta Business Suite help pages.

LinkedIn. Yes, one, and it isn’t for posts. The LinkedIn My Profile MCP server, on a docs page last updated 4 November 2026, is “hosted remotely by LinkedIn” at https://mcp.linkedin.com/mcp-my-profile. It’s “currently available to select partners”, and “The server rejects requests from unapproved applications”. Its tools read a member’s own profile and update experience entries.

For publishing posts, we found none on these pages: the MCP section of LinkedIn’s API documentation and the product catalog on its developer site. developer.linkedin.com also shows “Develop with MCP”, marked New, and its link leads to a login we didn’t use, so there may be more behind it. Check if you have a developer account.

Publishing with approval: where PostReach fits

PostReach is one remote MCP server for Instagram, Facebook Pages, LinkedIn and X. Your agent drafts, and a named person approves the exact post on a card in the chat, in the browser, or by saying yes in the chat. Changing a word asks again. PostReach then schedules and publishes it and keeps a record of who approved what. It runs no AI. The approval step isn’t our invention: on LinkedIn’s own server, “Every write follows a read → preview → approve → apply flow”.

It isn’t the right tool for reading other people’s profiles, sending messages or collecting data. There’s no social listening and no ad management, the inbox isn’t here yet, and it needs you to be using an AI agent. It also won’t suit you if you want unattended posting. Its pricing is per connected account, with the first 2 free and no card. It’s in early access. For the case for approval and what an agent can’t do alone, see using your own AI agent as a social media manager, and for how it sits among ordinary tools, our priced list of schedulers for small business.

How to connect one, step by step

Menus as described on each vendor’s help page, read 5 November 2026.

  1. Decide what it needs to do. Reading data and publishing are different jobs, and the tables show which server does which.
  2. Get the server’s address. A remote server gives you a URL. A local one gives you a command to run on your machine.
  3. Add it to your agent. In Claude: Customize, Connectors, “+ Add”, then “Add custom connector”. In ChatGPT: Plugins, the plus button, then Add custom MCP server, which OpenAI’s article gives in full to Business and Enterprise/Edu. Pro gets read-only access, which can’t publish. In Cursor: the Customize page or mcp.json. In Claude Code: claude mcp add --transport http <name> <url>.
  4. Sign in and read the permissions. Anthropic’s advice applies to all of them: “Only connect Claude to servers built and hosted by organizations and applications you trust.”
  5. Keep approval prompts on. Test with a harmless read. Then, if it publishes, try one low-stakes post before anything else, and don’t choose Allow always on a publish tool.

Setup pages for PostReach on Cursor and other agents walk through the same steps. We don’t yet list any agent as tested.

FAQ

Can I use a personal Instagram account?

Not through Meta’s API. Meta’s overview says “your app users must have an Instagram professional account”, meaning business or creator (read 5 November 2026). Zapier’s server needs a Business account, and PostReach takes professional accounts only. Session-based servers such as instamcp use your cookies instead, and its page advises a dedicated account.

Can my agent post without asking me?

It depends on the server and your agent’s settings. MCP’s specification says a human “SHOULD” be able to deny tool calls, but doesn’t enforce it. Markifact says every publish waits for approval, and on PostReach a person approves each post. Elsewhere, check before you choose Allow always (read 5 November 2026).

Will a session-based server get my account banned?

Nobody can promise either way, and we have no data on how often it happens. LinkedIn’s User Agreement reserves the right to restrict accounts that break its Dos and Don’ts, and the stickerdaniel README warns accounts “can be restricted or banned”. instamcp’s page advises using a dedicated account. Weigh that against what the account is worth to you (read 5 November 2026).

Sources

All read on 5 November 2026.

Ready when your AI is.

Connect your first 2 accounts free, forever. No card.

Get early access Talk to us