Get early access

Best Social Media Scheduler for Small Business

By The PostReach team. Published . Updated . More posts

Drafted with AI help. The PostReach team checked the facts on 5 November 2026.

PostReach cover on a yellow background with the words: Best scheduler for small business.
In this post

For most small businesses, our answer is Buffer, or Meta Business Suite if you only post to a Facebook Page and Instagram. Meta’s tool is free. Buffer’s free plan covers 3 accounts, and its Essentials plan costs $30 a month at 5 accounts and $60 at 10. Past that, the answer depends on how many accounts you run and whether a second person must approve posts, so we read each vendor’s own pages on 5 November 2026 and priced every tool at 5, 10 and 30 accounts. PostReach, our own product, is in the table too, and we say where it doesn’t fit.

Why start there? Buffer’s free plan includes LinkedIn and X, while Publer’s leaves out X and Metricool’s leaves out both. Its AI agent connection is on every plan, and so are a comments inbox and a link-in-bio page. It isn’t the lowest price at any size, as the table shows. Meta’s tool gives you scheduling, an inbox and a simple ad builder at no charge, but only for Meta’s own networks.

What a scheduler does, and what you can skip at your size

A scheduler holds a finished post and publishes it at the time you choose, on the accounts you choose. Most add a calendar, a place for drafts and some figures on how posts did. That’s the job you’re paying for.

One catch: “scheduled” doesn’t always mean published for you. Buffer’s channel table, read 5 November 2026, separates “Automatic Publishing” from reminders to post, and lists Facebook groups and Instagram personal profiles as reminder only. A reminder means you still post by hand. Ask any vendor which of your account types get which.

Unless you already know you need them, you can skip these at small-business size:

  • Social listening. Tracking what strangers say about your brand. It pays off when there’s volume to track.
  • Employee advocacy. Getting staff to share company posts. Hootsuite’s plans page keeps its version for Enterprise.
  • Ad management. If you only run simple Meta ads, you can create “quick and simple individual ads” in Business Suite, and pay only for the ads.
  • Long approval chains. One person checking posts covers most small teams.
  • Built-in AI writing, if you already pay for an AI agent that knows your business. Our guide to choosing an AI social media tool has more on that decision.

Don’t skip the dull parts: enough accounts at a price you can keep paying, direct publishing to the networks you use, and a clear message when a post doesn’t go out.

What to check before you pay

Every price and quote in this section was read on the vendor’s own page on 5 November 2026.

1. How the tool counts accounts. The same five accounts can be priced five ways. Buffer charges per channel, “one social account you connect to Buffer”. Later sells social sets, which “include one profile from each of Later’s supported social platforms”. Metricool charges by brand, where “you can manage 1 profile for each social network or ad platform”. Hootsuite charges per user. Postiz sells flat tiers of channels.

So count per network as well as in total. Take an example business with 3 Facebook Pages and 2 Instagram accounts. On Buffer that’s 5 channels. On Later it’s 3 sets, because three Pages can’t share one, so it needs Growth plus an extra set: $37.50 + $11.25 = $48.75 a month billed yearly, not Starter at $18.75. On Metricool it’s 3 brands, which its “up to 5 brands” tier covers.

2. Which networks and account types. Later’s list has Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, Threads, YouTube, Pinterest, LinkedIn and Snapchat, and no X. On Metricool, X costs “$10/month per connected account”. Meta Business Suite schedules Facebook and Instagram content only. PostReach posts to Instagram professional accounts, Facebook Pages, LinkedIn and X today. YouTube and TikTok aren’t open, and Threads, Pinterest and Bluesky are planned, with no date.

Local businesses should check Google Business Profile separately. Buffer, Publer, Metricool and Postiz list it. Later’s list doesn’t, and neither does PostReach’s. On Metricool, “each Metricool brand corresponds to a single location”, so two shops mean two brands.

3. Whether approval really stops a post. If someone must sign off before anything goes out, read the help page, not the plan name:

Tool Starts on What happens to a post nobody approved
Buffer Team Posts from someone set to Needs Approval “will always be saved as drafts awaiting approval”, including those made through “the MCP server”
Later Growth Members “can schedule posts, which will publish regardless of approval status”, unless an admin turns off Publish Without Approval for them
Metricool Advanced “Rejection always blocks publication”. A post still pending at its time gets “a grace period of 3 hours”, then doesn’t go out
Publer Not stated on its pricing page It waits under Pending approval, and “will only be fully scheduled once it has been approved”
Postiz Preview links, no plan named “Approval is a conversation, not a state”. You move a draft to scheduled yourself
Hootsuite Advanced Not stated on their pages
Meta Business Suite Not stated Not stated on the pages we read
PostReach Included Nothing goes out. A named person approves the exact post, and there’s no unattended mode. Changing a word asks again. Moving a time doesn’t, and it’s recorded

Working alone? Skip this check. You’re the approver.

4. What happens when a post fails. None of the pricing pages we read for these tools explains this, so ask during the trial. Logins expire and networks reject files. Does the tool try again, and how often? Who gets told? Can a retry post the same thing twice?

As a yardstick for your questions, here’s what PostReach does: up to 3 tries, at its time, 2 minutes later, then 15 minutes after that. No retry when the access token has expired: you get an email on how to reconnect, and the post waits. If we can’t tell whether a post went out, we never send it again blindly. Posts that missed their time while a connection was down wait for one decision: send them all, or pick a new day and time. Posts can still fail.

5. The price at your next step. Flat tiers jump. Hootsuite goes from $99 to $199 at your 11th account, because Standard stops at 10. Postiz goes from $29 to $39 at your 6th channel. Per-account prices climb more slowly: Buffer’s 11th channel costs $4 instead of $6, and PostReach’s 11th account costs US$2.50 instead of US$4.

What each scheduler costs at 5, 10 and 30 accounts

One user, per month, read on each vendor’s own page on 5 November 2026. “Monthly” means billed month to month. “Yearly” means the monthly rate when you pay for a year. Buffer’s and Hootsuite’s pages show “$” with no currency code; the others in this table state US dollars. Prices change, so re-check before you buy.

Tool and plan 5 accounts 10 accounts 30 accounts
Buffer Essentials $30 monthly, $25 yearly $60 monthly, $50 yearly $135 monthly. Yearly not stated
Later, yearly $18.75 (Starter), only if all five are on different networks $37.50 (Growth), at most 2 per network $60 (Growth + 2 sets), at most 4 per network. $82.50 (Scale), at most 6
Hootsuite, annual billing $99 (Standard) $99 (Standard, at its cap) $199 (Professional)
Publer Professional, yearly $16 $28.80 $86.40
Metricool Starter $20 annual, $25 monthly $20 or $25, at most 5 per network $20 or $25 at most 5 per network. $36 or $45 at most 10
Postiz $29 monthly, $23 yearly (Standard) $39 monthly, $31 yearly (Team) $49 monthly, $39 yearly (Pro)
Meta Business Suite $0 $0 $0. No account limit stated, Meta’s networks only
PostReach, launch price, billed monthly US$12 US$32 US$82

How the less obvious figures work:

  • Buffer charges each band at its own rate: channels 1 to 10 at $6, 11 to 25 at $4, 26 to 50 at $3. So 30 channels is (10 x $6) + (15 x $4) + (5 x $3) = $135. Its Team plan, which adds approvals and unlimited team members, is $60 at 5, $120 at 10 and (10 x $12) + (15 x $4) + (5 x $3) = $195 at 30, all monthly.
  • Later needs as many sets as your busiest network has accounts. Thirty accounts spread over its 8 networks is 4 sets: $37.50 + (2 x $11.25) = $60. These are yearly-billed prices, under the banner “3 months free | 25% off”, so monthly billing costs more. Starter also caps you at 30 posts per profile a month, Growth at 180.
  • Hootsuite is per user, so two people on Standard cost 2 x $99 = $198. Its prices are “based on annual billing, but do not include applicable taxes”. Monthly billing costs more, and the monthly price is not stated on their pages.
  • Publer’s figures come from its calculator, where “For every 9 social accounts, the 10th one is free”. Its Business plan, which adds analytics and its API and MCP, shows $28, $50.40 and $151.20 billed yearly. Switch the calculator to monthly to see those prices.
  • Metricool prices brands, not accounts. Its page doesn’t label the two price blocks. We read the first as annual because that’s the default tab. X adds $10 per connected account, and Free covers one brand if you can live without LinkedIn and X, with up to 20 scheduled posts a month.
  • PostReach: the first 2 accounts are free, forever, with no card. So 5 accounts is 3 x US$4 = US$12, 10 is 8 x US$4 = US$32, and 30 is US$32 + (20 x US$2.50) = US$82. The launch price stays for as long as you stay subscribed; the list price is US$5 and US$3 in those bands. You’re billed after use, once a month, counted by the day, and an early charge can happen at US$10. There’s no charge per person or per post, apart from X, which is charged at X’s published rates with no markup: US$0.015 a post, or US$0.20 with a link.

Here’s what those prices buy beyond the count:

Tool Free plan AI agent support
Buffer 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts each MCP on every plan
Later None. 14-day trial Not stated on the pages we read
Hootsuite None. 14-day trial MCP servers for ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Copilot
Publer 3 accounts, no X, 10 scheduled posts each MCP on Business and Enterprise
Metricool 1 brand, 20 posts a month, no LinkedIn or X MCP, listed on Free with “Limits may apply”
Postiz None hosted. 7-day trial MCP, CLI and API on every plan
Meta Business Suite It’s free None stated
PostReach First 2 accounts, no card Built around it. You need an AI agent to draft

Every tool here posts to Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn, except Meta’s, which skips LinkedIn. The other networks are where they differ:

Tool X TikTok YouTube Threads Pinterest Google Business Profile
Buffer Yes Business accounts Shorts Yes Yes Yes
Later Not listed Yes Shorts Yes Yes Not listed
Hootsuite Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Not listed
Publer Paid plans Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Metricool Add-on Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Postiz Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Meta Business Suite No No No Manages, scheduling not described No No
PostReach Yes, with a card Not open Not open Planned Planned Not listed

To keep these tables readable, we left out Sprout Social, SocialBee and Social Champ. They’re priced in our comparison of Sprout Social alternatives for small teams.

Free options and where they stop

Free plans run out fast. Buffer’s holds 10 scheduled posts per channel at any one time, and when you upgrade “you will pay for each channel”, the three free ones included. Metricool’s stops at 20 posts a month. Publer’s keeps published posts for only 24 hours.

The networks’ own tools are free too. Checked 5 November 2026, Facebook Pages schedule “between 20 minutes and 29 days away”, the Instagram app “up to 25 posts a day, up to 30 days in advance”, and a LinkedIn profile “between 10 minutes and 3 months” ahead. If one or two accounts are all you have, start there. We go through every limit in free schedulers, plan by plan.

If you already use an AI agent

You don’t have to learn a dashboard if you already work in Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or Claude Code. MCP is an open-source standard that lets those AI agents use outside tools, and several schedulers now offer a server for it, as the table above shows. You ask for a post in the chat, and the agent sends it to the scheduler.

The difference is what happens next. Buffer’s page, read 5 November 2026, says posts “land in your Buffer queue as drafts or scheduled posts”, where you can review them. PostReach is built around that last step: your agent drafts, a named person approves the exact post on a card in the chat, in the browser, or by saying yes in the chat, and PostReach schedules and publishes it. The approval is on record: the person, the post, the account, the time and the route. PostReach writes nothing and runs no AI.

PostReach is in early access, with the first 2 accounts free. Review cards show in agents that support them, such as Claude and ChatGPT. We don’t yet list any agent as tested. For what an agent can and can’t do on its own, read using your own AI agent as a social media manager. If you’re comparing raw servers, we’ve read them one by one in LinkedIn and Instagram MCP servers compared.

Which one for which small business

This is our reading of the tables above, at prices checked 5 November 2026.

  • One person, 3 accounts or fewer: Buffer’s free plan. Move to Essentials when 10 queued posts per account feels tight. If you work with an AI agent too, see how PostReach and Buffer compare.
  • A local shop on Facebook and Instagram: Meta Business Suite. Add Buffer or Metricool if you also want Google Business Profile in the same calendar. If you already draft with an AI agent, see how that works for a local business.
  • An Instagram-led brand that plans visually: Later’s visual planner and link in bio are the draw. Check the post caps, and note it doesn’t list X.
  • A solo owner with many accounts on a small budget: compare Metricool, Postiz and Publer in the table. Which is lower depends on how your accounts split across networks and how you want to pay. PostReach’s US$82 at 30 accounts costs more than Metricool and Postiz, and more than Later if your accounts fit its 4-per-network limit. At 5 it costs less than their paid plans. Our page for solopreneurs covers the AI agent route.
  • An agency of two: count people. Hootsuite at 10 accounts is 2 x $99 = $198. Buffer’s Team plan is $120 monthly and Postiz’s Team plan is $39 monthly at 10, both with unlimited team members. Metricool’s Advanced, from $53 on its annual tab, has team and client management. PostReach is US$32 with no charge per person and a workspace per client.
  • You need an inbox, listening and reports in one place: Hootsuite. Standard already includes “Respond to messages from one inbox” and “Monitor your brand and competitors”. We set it against PostReach in Hootsuite and PostReach for small businesses.
  • You want open source, or to host it yourself: Postiz. Just know that self-hosting means “You register each one and supply keys” for each network’s developer app.
  • You draft in an AI agent, and a person must sign off every post: PostReach, or Buffer’s Team plan if you also need its wider network list.

Pick something other than PostReach if you don’t use an AI agent, because it needs one. The same goes if you need social listening or ad management, an inbox for messages and comments (coming later), LinkedIn documents and PDFs, or unattended posting. It also won’t suit you if TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest or Bluesky matter today. If you were hoping to hand everything over, read what social media automation can and can’t do for a small business first.

How to test one in a week

Trials leave room for this. They run 14 days on Buffer, Later and Hootsuite, and 7 days on Postiz and Publer’s Professional. Two warnings, checked 5 November 2026. At the end of Hootsuite’s trial “regular billing begins and you’ll be charged” unless you cancel first, and its trial accounts have “daily posting limits (10-20 posts per organization, depending on plan)”. Postiz says “Starting a trial requires a payment method”.

  1. Day 1: connect every type of account you use. Confirm each one publishes directly and doesn’t just send a reminder.
  2. Day 2: post your real formats. A photo, a carousel, a short video and a link. Check the crop, the caption and the link once they’re live.
  3. Day 3: use the calendar. Move a post, change a time, and check which time zone it’s using.
  4. Day 4: try to get around approval. If two people will use the tool, log in as the junior one and try to publish. If the post goes out, you’ve learned what “approval” means there.
  5. Day 5: break something on purpose. Remove the tool’s access in the network’s settings before a test post is due. See what message you get, and how soon.
  6. Day 6: read the figures. Check which networks show anything, and how far back.
  7. Day 7: price your next step. Add the accounts you expect to have in a year, and find out how to cancel.

FAQ

Do I need a scheduler at all?

Not if you post to one or two accounts. Instagram’s app schedules up to 30 days ahead, a LinkedIn Page up to three months, and a Facebook Page up to 29 days (checked 5 November 2026). A scheduler earns its price when you run several accounts, want one calendar, or need someone to check posts first.

Can I run a small business on Meta’s free tools?

Yes, if your customers are on Facebook and Instagram. Business Suite is “free to use on desktop and in the Meta Business Suite mobile app”, with scheduling, an inbox, insights and simple ads (checked 5 November 2026). It needs a business portfolio. It won’t post to LinkedIn, X or TikTok, and the pages we read don’t mention approvals.

What happens when a scheduled post fails?

It depends on the tool, and the pricing pages we read don’t say, so ask during the trial. On PostReach, a post gets up to 3 tries, you get an email if it stops, and a post is never resent blindly when the outcome is unknown. An expired token stops retries until you reconnect. We don’t publish an availability figure, and posts can still fail.

Sources

All read on 5 November 2026.

Ready when your AI is.

Connect your first 2 accounts free, forever. No card.

Get early access Talk to us