Get early access

Sprout Social Alternatives for Small Teams

By The PostReach team. Published . Updated . More posts

Drafted with AI help. The PostReach team checked the facts on 5 November 2026.

PostReach cover on a blue background with the words: Sprout Social alternatives.
In this post

The closest Sprout Social alternative for a small team is Hootsuite if you use an inbox and listening every day, and Buffer’s Team plan or Metricool’s Advanced plan if you mostly schedule and approve posts. Price per seat is the reason to look. Sprout’s approvals start on Professional at $299 per seat a month, billed annually, so three people cost $897 a month, paid up front as $10,764 for the year. Buffer’s Team plan is $120 a month at 10 accounts, with unlimited team members. All prices checked 5 November 2026.

Sprout is a strong product, and some teams should keep it. Below is what you’d give up by leaving, what 9 other tools cost at 5, 10 and 30 accounts, and where our own product, PostReach, fits and doesn’t.

What Sprout Social costs, and where the price jumps

We have no survey of why teams leave Sprout, and we won’t invent one. What we can show is where its own pricing page makes a small team pay more. Read on 5 November 2026, annual billing:

Plan Per seat a month Social profiles Approvals
Essentials $79 Up to 5 No
Standard $199 5 No
Professional $299 Unlimited Yes
Advanced $399 Unlimited Yes, plus up to 3 external approvers
Enterprise Custom Not stated Not stated

Five things push the bill up:

  1. Every person is a seat. Three people on Standard cost 3 x $199 = $597 a month.
  2. The sixth profile. Essentials and Standard stop at 5. One person going from 5 to 6 accounts moves from $79 to $299.
  3. Approvals. “Message Approval Workflows are available on Professional and Advanced plans.” So a 3-person team with 5 profiles still pays $299 a seat if posts need sign-off.
  4. Add-ons. “Premium Analytics and Listening are each available as individual add-ons to the Standard plan and up.” Their prices aren’t on the page, so you’d have to ask Sprout. Standard does include “Keyword and location monitoring”.
  5. Paying up front. Its FAQ says “Annual billing requires a one-time upfront payment for the entire subscription term”. One Professional seat is $299 x 12 = $3,588. Month to month costs more, and the same FAQ lists those prices.

In fairness, Sprout gets things right that its rivals don’t all match. The trial is 30 days with “No credit card required”. And its approvals really stop a post: “If a submitted message isn’t approved before its originally scheduled time, the post will not be published but it remains in the Needs Approval tab.”

What you’d give up by leaving

Check this list against what your team opened last week. Everything comes from the vendors’ pages, read 5 November 2026.

  • A shared inbox. Sprout has “Consolidated inbox and collaboration tools” on Standard. Hootsuite has one from Standard, Later from Growth, and Social Champ on every plan. Buffer’s covers comments, on every plan. PostReach doesn’t have one yet.
  • Social listening. On Sprout it’s an add-on from Standard, price on request. Hootsuite lists it from Standard. Social Champ has it on Growth and Agency. PostReach has none.
  • Reports. Sprout has profile and post-level reporting, with Premium Analytics as an add-on. Metricool has custom report templates and a Data Studio connector on Advanced, Hootsuite custom reports on Professional, and Buffer branded reports on Team. PostReach shows figures where each network shares them.
  • Approvals that stop a post. Sprout has them on Professional and Advanced. The second table below shows who else does.
  • Employee advocacy. An add-on on Sprout, “Available on Standard plan and up”. On Hootsuite it’s Enterprise.
  • Review management. On Sprout’s Standard. We didn’t compare this, so check with each vendor.
  • Built-in AI. Trellis comes with every Sprout plan, at 100 credits per seat a month. Hootsuite’s Wisdom and Buffer’s AI Assistant are on every plan too. Or use your own AI agent.

If the inbox, listening and reviews are why you bought Sprout, the honest options are Hootsuite or staying. Most tools in this article replace the scheduling, not that.

Alternatives by need

Prices and quotes here were read on 5 November 2026.

You want the whole suite: Hootsuite. It’s the nearest in shape: per user, with an inbox, listening, competitor monitoring and reports. Standard is $99 per user for up to 10 accounts. It isn’t cheaper once you need approvals, though. “Review and approve content with your team” is listed from Advanced, at $399 per user, and whether that blocks publishing is not stated on their pages. It also offers MCP servers for AI agents. We set it beside PostReach in the Hootsuite comparison.

You schedule, and the team needs sign-off: Buffer’s Team plan. $12 a channel for the first 10, with unlimited team members and approvals. Posts from someone set to Needs Approval “will always be saved as drafts awaiting approval”, including those from its MCP server. You’d lose listening. See PostReach and Buffer side by side.

Scheduling and reports across brands: Metricool. Advanced is from $53 on its annual tab and $67 on its monthly tab for 15 brands, with unlimited team members, a post approval system and custom report templates. Each brand holds one profile per network, and X costs “$10/month per connected account”. Check that split before you count.

Instagram-led and visual: Later. Growth is $37.50 a month billed yearly, with 2 people, 2 social sets, an inbox and approvals. Two catches: it doesn’t list X, and by default Members “can schedule posts, which will publish regardless of approval status” until an admin turns that off.

An agency with several clients: SocialBee, Social Champ or PostReach. SocialBee’s Pro has 25 profiles, 3 people and 5 workspaces for $99 a month, or $82.50 billed yearly, with content categories for recycling posts. It has no public API: “At the moment, no, we don’t.” Social Champ’s Agency plan has 30 accounts and unlimited people for $149 monthly or $119.20 yearly. PostReach gives each client a workspace with its own accounts, time zone and people, with no charge per workspace or person.

Open source, flat price: Postiz. Unlimited team members from its Team plan, with MCP on every plan, and you can host it yourself. Its docs are plain that “Approval is a conversation, not a state”, so holding a post back is up to you: keep it as a draft until it’s cleared.

Pay only for accounts: Publer. $16 at 5 accounts, billed yearly, with members added on top in its calculator. Its pricing page doesn’t say which plan includes approvals.

What each tool costs at 5, 10 and 30 accounts

One user, per month, checked 5 November 2026. “Monthly” means billed month to month. “Yearly” means the monthly rate when you pay for a year. Sprout Social, Hootsuite, Buffer, SocialBee and Social Champ show “$” with no currency code; the others state US dollars.

Tool and plan 5 accounts 10 accounts 30 accounts
Sprout Social, annual billing $79 (Essentials) $299 (Professional) $299 (Professional)
Hootsuite, annual billing $99 (Standard) $99 (Standard, at its cap) $199 (Professional)
Buffer Essentials $30 monthly, $25 yearly $60 monthly, $50 yearly $135 monthly. Yearly not stated
Later, yearly $18.75 (Starter), one per network $37.50 (Growth), at most 2 per network $60 (Growth + 2 sets), at most 4 per network. $82.50 (Scale), at most 6
Publer Professional, yearly $16 $28.80 $86.40
Metricool Starter $20 annual, $25 monthly $20 or $25, at most 5 per network $20 or $25 at most 5 per network. $36 or $45 at most 10
Postiz $29 monthly, $23 yearly (Standard) $39 monthly, $31 yearly (Team) $49 monthly, $39 yearly (Pro)
SocialBee $29 monthly, $24 yearly (Bootstrap) $49 monthly, $40.80 yearly (Accelerate) $114 monthly, $95 yearly (Pro + 5 profiles)
Social Champ Starter $25 monthly, $20 yearly $50 monthly, $40 yearly $120 monthly, $90 yearly
PostReach, launch price, billed monthly US$12 US$32 US$82

The sums behind the 30-account column:

  • Buffer: (10 x $6) + (15 x $4) + (5 x $3) = $135.
  • Later: 30 accounts over its 8 networks need 4 sets, so $37.50 + (2 x $11.25) = $60. The page offers “3 months free | 25% off” for paying yearly, so monthly billing costs more.
  • SocialBee: Pro at $99 covers 25 profiles, and one set of 5 adds $15, so $114. Billed yearly, that’s $990 + $150 = $1,140, or $95 a month. Its page says add-ons are bought in the app, and we didn’t check that the set can be added to Pro. Pro50 is $179 monthly or $149 yearly.
  • Social Champ: (10 x $5) + (10 x $4) + (10 x $3) = $120 monthly, or (10 x $4) + (10 x $3) + (10 x $2) = $90 yearly. Its Agency bundle is $149 or $119.20. A Halloween offer runs until 9 November 2026, and we couldn’t tell whether these prices already include it.
  • PostReach: the first 2 accounts are free, so US$32 for the first 10, plus 20 x US$2.50 = US$82. The launch price stays for as long as you stay subscribed. X posts cost extra, at X’s published rates with no markup.

Now the case this article is about: three people, 10 accounts, and posts that must be approved.

Tool and plan The sum A month Does approval stop a post?
Hootsuite Advanced 3 x $399 $1,197, annual billing Not stated on their pages
Sprout Social Professional 3 x $299 $897, annual billing Yes
Buffer Team 10 x $12, any number of people $120 monthly, $100 yearly Yes, for people set to Needs Approval
SocialBee Pro Flat, up to 3 people and 25 profiles $99 monthly, $82.50 yearly Yes: posts not approved “will not be shared” until you approve them
Metricool Advanced Flat, 15 brands, unlimited team members $67 monthly, $53 annual Yes: “Rejection always blocks publication”, unless you choose its auto-approve rule, where silence counts as yes
Social Champ Professional Flat, up to 5 people and 12 accounts $59 monthly, $47.20 yearly Yes, when the workspace setting is on
Later Growth $37.50 + 1 extra person at $3.75, at most 2 accounts per network $41.25 yearly Only if an admin turns off Publish Without Approval
Postiz Team Flat, unlimited team members $39 monthly, $31 yearly No: you keep it as a draft until you’re ready
PostReach, launch price 8 x US$4, any number of people US$32 Yes, on every post

Publer isn’t here because its added members are priced in its calculator and its pricing page doesn’t say which plan has approvals.

And the rest of the shape of each tool:

Tool Priced by Free plan AI agent support
Sprout Social Seat None. 30-day trial Its own agent, Trellis. “The Sprout API” on Advanced. No MCP mentioned on its pricing page
Hootsuite User None. 14-day trial Four MCP servers
Buffer Channel 3 channels MCP on every plan
Later Plan and social sets None. 14-day trial Not stated on the pages we read
Publer Account, plus members 3 accounts, no X MCP on Business and Enterprise
Metricool Brand 1 brand, no LinkedIn or X MCP, on Free with “Limits may apply”
Postiz Tier of channels None hosted. 7-day trial MCP, CLI and API on every plan
SocialBee Plan by profiles None. 14-day trial Not stated on its pricing page
Social Champ Account or bundle 3 accounts, no X Hosted MCP server
PostReach Account First 2 accounts, no card Built around it. You need an AI agent

All ten post to Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Beyond those:

Tool X TikTok YouTube Threads Pinterest Google Business Profile
Sprout Social Yes Yes Not on its pricing page Yes Yes Not on its pricing page
Hootsuite Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Not listed
Buffer Yes Business accounts Shorts Yes Yes Yes
Later Not listed Yes Shorts Yes Yes Not listed
Publer Paid plans Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Metricool Add-on Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Postiz Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
SocialBee Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Social Champ Add-on Yes Yes Yes Paid plans Yes
PostReach Yes, with a card Not open Not open Planned Planned Not listed

Where PostReach fits, and where it doesn’t

PostReach does one narrow job. Your own AI agent drafts a post through a remote MCP server, a named person approves the exact post, and PostReach schedules and publishes it. It writes nothing and runs no AI.

It fits a small team that already works in an AI agent and wants sign-off without paying per seat. There’s no charge per person or per workspace. Roles run from Owner and Admin through Publisher and Drafter to Viewer. Each approval is on record: the person, the exact post, the account, the time, and whether it came from a card, the browser or the chat. Changing a word asks again. Moving a time doesn’t, and it’s recorded.

It doesn’t fit if you bought Sprout for listening, the inbox or ads. There’s no social listening and no ad management, and an inbox for messages and comments is coming later. It needs you to be using an AI agent. It posts to Instagram professional accounts, Facebook Pages, LinkedIn and X, so if you need TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest or Bluesky, it won’t work today. Analytics come only where each network shares figures, and X figures are off by default because X charges for them. PostReach is also in early access, with the first 2 accounts free, and we don’t yet list any agent as tested. For how the AI agent route works and where it stops, read what an AI agent can and can’t do as a social media manager.

How to move

  1. Check your renewal date. On annual billing you’ve already paid up front, so the saving starts at renewal. Plan backwards from it.
  2. Export what you want to keep. Sprout’s help, read 5 November 2026, says the Publishing Calendar’s List View “Shows a detailed, post-by-post list including scheduled, queued, and sent messages”. For figures, “export the Post Performance Report as a CSV”. For drafts, you can “download a PDF preview of your Calendar or create a shareable Calendar link”. A PDF won’t import anywhere, so expect to retype or paste your queue.
  3. Try the new tool on your lowest-stakes account. Run the two side by side for at least two weeks. Our test plan for a week lists what to try, including how to make a post fail on purpose.
  4. Reconnect every account. Each network grants access tool by tool, so someone with admin rights has to connect each one. Check the type too: Instagram scheduling tools generally need a business or creator account.
  5. Rebuild the queue going forward. Move only future posts. As you add each one to the new tool, delete it from Sprout, or it will go out twice.
  6. Rebuild your approval rules and try to break them. Log in as the most junior person and try to publish without sign-off.
  7. Cancel last. Leave Sprout running until the new tool has handled a full posting cycle.

FAQ

Can I keep Sprout for listening and schedule elsewhere?

Only with a seat still paid. Listening is an add-on “to the Standard plan and up”, so you’d keep at least one Standard seat at $199 a month on annual billing, plus the add-on, whose price isn’t on the page (checked 5 November 2026). Its influencer marketing and NewsWhip products say “No Sprout plan required”.

Does Sprout Social have an MCP server?

Its pricing page doesn’t mention one. It names Trellis, its own AI agent, and “The Sprout API” on Advanced. A search result points to a ChatGPT connection, but we couldn’t open Sprout’s help article to confirm what it does on 5 November 2026. Ask Sprout whether it can create posts before you rely on it.

Which Sprout Social alternatives have a free plan?

Buffer (3 channels), Publer (3 accounts, no X), Social Champ (3 accounts, no X), Metricool (1 brand, no LinkedIn or X) and PostReach (first 2 accounts). Hootsuite, Later, SocialBee and hosted Postiz have none. Limits are in our comparison of free schedulers, checked 5 November 2026.

Is there a cheaper tool with all of Sprout’s features?

Not that we found on these pages. Hootsuite comes closest, and its Standard plan is $99 against Sprout’s $199 per seat on annual billing, but for approvals it’s $399 against $299 (checked 5 November 2026). If you only use scheduling and approvals, the second table above shows lower bills, and you give up listening in most of them.

Sources

All read on 5 November 2026.

Ready when your AI is.

Connect your first 2 accounts free, forever. No card.

Get early access Talk to us